Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Разбухшее скопление
26 September 2013, Samara

На изображение показано очень большое и сильно удаленное газообразное скопление Coma. Это гигантское скопление содержит более 1000 галактик, которые связаны общим гравитационным полем. Если вы присмотритесь, то увидите, что все желто-белые объекты являются галактиками на этом снимке. Фиолетовым цветом показаны рукава нагретого газа до миллионов градусов.
Все большие скопления галактик содержат такой горячий газ. Этот газ излучает мощные рентгеновские лучи, так как он очень горяч и здесь он показан фиолетовым цветом. Мы не можем видеть рентгеновские лучи, но астрономы их регистрируют. На самом деле газ очень необходим, потому что большинство материи сосредоточено в скоплениях, и которые можно измерить благодаря точно известной температуре газа! Горячий газ составляет большую часть материи здесь!
Наша Галактика также является частью группы галактик, которая называется Местная группа. Наше скопление также заполнено газом, но оно так разрежено, что мы не можем видеть его на ночном небе. Местная группа намного меньше скопления Coma, газ окружающий наши галактики несильно горяч.
Газ на этом снимке еще много может поведать нам историй. Форма этих фиолетовых облаков и как они простираются сквозь скопление Coma. Они показывают нам маленькие группы галактик и маленькие галактические скопления и как они объединяются друг с другом. В настоящий момент скопление Coma является самой большой структурой во Вселенной!

Новые факты

 Скопление Coma очень удалено от нас. Если вы стартуете сегодня до него на гигантском корабле с неограниченным запасом продовольствия и кислорода, то пройдет 9 миллионов поколений людей прежде, чем достигните скопления! И при условии, что вы будете лететь со скоростью света.

Share:

Images

Growth of the Coma Colossus
Growth of the Coma Colossus

Printer-friendly

PDF File
973.5 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Growth of the Coma Colossus
26 September 2013

This picture shows the very large, very distant and very gassy Coma Cluster. It's a giant cluster of over 1000 galaxies that are all bound together by gravity. If you take a close look, you can make out the yellow-white shapes of galaxies scattered across the picture. The pink blobs show arms of multi-million degree gas, hot enough to cook your lungs in half a breath.

All big clusters of galaxies contain this very hot gas. The gas sends out lots of powerful X-rays because it's so hot, and these are what we can see in pink here. You can’t see X-rays with your eyes, so astronomers have coloured them in pink. This gas is actually a very helpful tool for us, because the amount of material in the cluster can be measured using just the temperature of the gas! The hotter the gas, the more material there is!

Our Galaxy is also part of a group of galaxies, called the Local Group. Our cluster is also filled with gas, but it's so spread out that we don't see it when we look into the night sky. And because the Local Group is much smaller than the Coma Cluster, the gas around our galaxy isn't nearly as hot.

The gas in this picture also tells another story. The shape of these pink clouds and how they are spread throughout the cluster give us clues into how the Coma Cluster has grown. They show us that smaller groups of galaxies and smaller galaxy clusters have crashed and combined over time. The final result is the colossal Coma Cluster we see today, one of the biggest structures in the entire Universe! 

Cool Fact

The Coma Cluster is very far away. If you started travelling there today in a giant starship, with unlimited food, water and oxygen, and then your children took over the mission when you died, followed by their children and so on, it would take 9 million generations of your offspring before your ship arrived at the cluster! And this is if you're doing the impossible and moving at the speed of the fastest thing in the Universe — light.

Share:

Images

Growth of the Coma Colossus
Growth of the Coma Colossus

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1015.8 KB