Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
От песчинки до планеты
30 November 2012, Samara

На протяжении длительного времени нам было известно, что планеты формируются и живут вокруг звезд. Как, например Солнце является родительской звездой для всех планет Солнечной системы. Но астрономы обнаружили, что некоторые типы объектов могут тоже иметь свои собственные планеты! Это огромные камни соизмеримые с Землей.

Когда звезда рождается вокруг остаются частицы газа и пыли, из которых формируется диск подобный кольцам Сатурна. Этот диск состоит из маленьких гранул пыли, которые впоследствии формируют камни. Эти гранулы могут сталкиваться и склеиваться, образуя все большие и большие объекты – так рождаются планеты. (Можно посмотреть на видео как это происходит: http://www.eso.org/public/videos/eso1248a/ !)

Теперь астрономы знают, что маленькие гранулы в газовом диске окружают «коричневый карлик» - это такой объект, который нельзя назвать ни планетой, ни звездой. Коричневые карлики иногда еще называют «истощенной звездой». Они значительно больше планет иногда даже в 80 раз массивнее Юпитера – самой большой планеты в Солнечной системе. Но они слишком малы, чтобы ярко светить как звезды.

Астрономы не ожидали найти эти маленькие гранулы вращающиеся вокруг коричневого карлика. Главным образом, потому что их диски не могут содержать очень большое количество материи так как отдельные частицы сталкиваются и слипаются в большие объекты. Но они ошиблись, эти гранулы действительно вращаются вокруг коричневого карлика. Это возможно, потому что в некоторых случаях очень маленькие гранулы уже выросли в планетные камни, и были обнаружены соизмеримые с Землей за пределами системы, в космосе!

Новые факты

Коричневые карлики не обладают энергией ярких звезд, но они все-таки немного светятся. Это происходит за счет постоянной гравитации и сжатием вещества во внутрь. Это и заставляет коричневый карлик нагреваться и светиться красным цветом.

Share:

More news
5 November 2019
31 October 2019
23 October 2019
11 September 2019
5 September 2019

Images

From Grains to the Planets
From Grains to the Planets

Printer-friendly

PDF File
898.3 KB

Find Us Online At
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
From Grains to Planets
30 November 2012

For a long time we've known that planets form and live around stars. For example, the Sun is the parent star of all the planets in our Solar System. But now astronomers have found clues that another type of object might make their own planets, too! This means that rocky, Earth-like planets may be even more common in the universe than we'd dreamed!

When a star is born, any leftover gas and dust forms a disc around it, similar to Saturn's rings. Within this disc, small dust grains made of rock sometimes form. These grains can then collide and stick together, forming larger and larger objects — this is how planets are born. (Watch this cool video and see exactly how it happens!)

Now, for the first time ever astronomers have spotted solid grains in the gassy disc around a 'brown dwarf' — an object that is neither a planet nor a star. Brown dwarfs are sometimes known as 'failed stars'. They are much too large to be classed as planets, sometimes growing to 80 times more massive than Jupiter, the biggest planet in our Solar System. But they're too small to begin burning fuel in their cores and so they don't shine brightly, like stars.

Astronomers didn't expect to find these solid grains around brown dwarfs for a number of reasons. Mostly because their discs don't contain very much material, so the chance of particles crashing and combining into bigger objects is slim. But it turns out they were wrong, these grains do exist around brown dwarfs. It's even possible that in some cases tiny grains like these have already grown into rocky planets, giving us an even higher chance of finding an Earth-sized world out in space!

Cool Fact

Brown Dwarfs might not be as bright as stars, but they do shine a little. This is due to gravity constantly pushing and squeezing at the material inside. This heats up the brown dwarf, causing it to glow a dim red colour.

More information

 This Space Scoop is based on an ESO Press Release.



From Grains to the Planets
From Grains to the Planets


PDF File
933.5 KB