Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Когда комета не является кометой?
7 November 2013, Samara

В среднем только одна комета в год может быть замечена на небе невооруженным глазом. Если вы удачливы, то сможете увидеть комету изображенную на снимке. Но астрономов сбил с толку этот объект, потому что он вращается как астероид!
Астероиды являются каменными глыбами, оставшимися после формирования Солнечной системы 4.6 миллиардов лет тому назад. С Земли они видны как меленькие точки, движущиеся по ночному небу. Многие из них подобно этому летают между орбитами Марса и Юпитера в так называемом астероидном поясе. Кометы же в основном вращаются на внешней стороне Солнечной системы.
Иногда комета приближается к Солнцу. Когда такое случается, то мы можем наблюдать фантастическое явление! Кометы состоят из камня пыли и льда. Если они приближаются близко к Солнцу, то у них начинает испаряться лед. Таким образом, у них формируется хвост, который может далеко простираться по ночному небу.
Нечто подобное мы можем видеть на снимке. Но как у астероида может образоваться хвост?
Астероид вращается очень быстро, борясь с гравитацией и вследствие неровной поверхности. Уже 6 комето-подобных хвостатых астероидов обнаружено!

Новые факты

Сейчас уже известны астероиды, которые теряют от 100 до 1000 тонн материи. Это в 4 раза больше, чем весит статуя Свободы!

Share:

More news
5 November 2019
31 October 2019
23 October 2019
11 September 2019

Images

When is a Comet not a Comet?
When is a Comet not a Comet?

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.1 MB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
When is a Comet not a Comet?
7 November 2013

On average, only one comet per year can be seen soaring across the sky with the naked eye. If you're very lucky, you might have seen one for yourself, and this picture will look very familiar. But as much as it looks like a comet, this object baffled astronomers when it turned out to be a simple asteroid!

Asteroids are lumps of rock left over from the formation of our Solar System 4.6 billion years ago. From Earth, they look like tiny points of light moving around in the night sky. Many of them, like this one, are located between Mars and Jupiter, in a region called the Asteroid Belt. Comets, on the other hand, are mainly found in the outer edges of our Solar System.

Occasionally, a comet will wander closer towards the Sun. When this happens, it provides a fantastic show for us! Comets are made of rock, dust and ice. If they stray too close to the Sun, the heat evaporates some of the ice. This creates a fantastic “tail” that can be seen as the comet travels across the night sky.

We can see a comet-like tail in this picture. But asteroids aren't made of ice, so how did this one get its tail?

Well, the asteroid is spinning very quickly, causing its weak gravity to struggle to hold the rocky surface together, so it has started flying apart! The six comet-like tails streaming behind the asteroid are actually made of scattered dust and rock!

Cool Fact

So far, maybe 100 to 1000 tonnes of the asteroid's material has been lost. That’s about four times the weight of the Statue of Liberty!

Share:

Images

When is a Comet not a Comet?
When is a Comet not a Comet?

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.1 MB