Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
La Terre est-elle unique ?
11 September 2019, Grenoble

De la vapeur d’eau a été trouvée dans l’atmosphère d’une planète distante nommée K2-18b.

K2-18b est une planète qui se trouve en dehors de notre système solaire. Elle fait partie du groupe des exoplanètes.

Les chercheurs d’une université de Londres, en Angleterre, ont utilisé le télescope Hubble, un puissant télescope situé dans l’espace, pour observer l’atmosphère de la planète K2-18b. Ils y ont trouvé des signes de présence d’eau sous forme de vapeur, d’hydrogène et d’hélium.

Cette découverte est intéressante parce que ces trois éléments sont les éléments que l’on trouve en plus grand nombre sur Terre. Avoir trouvé de l’eau a l’état liquide aide aussi les astronomes à étudier si oui ou non, l’eau est souvent présente à travers l’Univers. Dans d’autres termes, la Terre est-elle unique ?

L’eau peut exister sur K2-18b parce que la planète tourne autour de son étoile à une bonne distance pour rendre possible l’existence d’eau liquide a sa surface. Si la planète se trouvait trop proche de l’étoile, l’eau bouillirait et elle gèlerait si la planète se trouvait trop loin de la chaleur de l’étoile.

Même si cette planète présente de l’eau dans son atmosphère, K2-18b n’est surement pas un endroit pour vivre. Cette planète est très lourde et tourne autour d’une naine rouge. Malgré ce que l’on peut penser, les étoiles rouges sont bien moins chaudes que les étoiles bleues ! En fait, les étoiles rouges sont les plus froides. Ces petites naines rouges sont de loin les étoiles les plus communes de notre galaxie, la Voie Lactée. Cela fait de K2-18b une planète bien plus dangereuse que la Terre !

Ce Scoop de l’Espace est basé sur un communiqué de presse de l’University College London et ESA/Hubble.  

Image : ESA/Hubble, M. Kornmesser

Cool Fact

La planète K2-18b fait 8 fois la masse de la Terre ! C’est pourquoi on l’appelle une « Super-Terre ».

Audrey Korczynska

Share:

Images

Exoplanet K2-18b
Exoplanet K2-18b

Printer-friendly

PDF File
975.1 KB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Is Earth Special?
11 September 2019

In an exciting discovery, water vapour has been found in the atmosphere of a distant planet known as K2-18b.

Because K2-18b is a planet outside our own solar system, it is known as an exoplanet.

Researchers from University College London used the Hubble Space Telescope to peer inside the atmosphere of planet K2-18b. They found promising signs of water vapour, hydrogen and helium in the planet’s atmosphere.

This is an exciting find because these are some of the common elements that we find here on Earth. Most importantly, the finding of liquid water helps astronomers study whether or not water it is common throughout the Universe. In other words, is Earth special?

Water can exist on K2-18b because it orbits its star at the right distance to make it possible for liquid water to exist. If the planet was too close to the star, the water would boil away, but it would freeze solid if the planet were too far from the heat of its star.

Even though this planet has water in its atmosphere, K2-18b is likely not a place you want to live. This planet is much heavier, has a different atmosphere, and orbits a red dwarf star. Despite what you may think, blue stars are much hotter than red stars. In fact, red stars are the coldest! These smallest red dwarfs are by far the most common type of star in our Milky Way Galaxy. This makes exoplanet K2-18b possibly more dangerous than Earth and is likely to be exposed to more harmful radiation.


 

This Space Scoop is based on a Press Release from University College London and ESA/Hubble.

Image credit: ESA/Hubble, M. Kornmesser

 

Cool Fact

Planet K2-18b is eight times the mass of Earth! This is why we call it a “Super-Earth”.

 

Share:

More news
5 November 2019
31 October 2019
23 October 2019
5 September 2019

Images

Exoplanet K2-18b
Exoplanet K2-18b

Printer-friendly

PDF File
975.3 KB