Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Des télescopes qui ne disent pas la même chose !
29 September 2011

    Pour voir l'Univers en entier, les astronomes doivent se montrer inventifs. Ils combinent plusieurs photographies prises par différents télescopes pour obtenir une seule image très colorée. Par exemple, dans cette superbe photo d'un nuage de formation d'étoiles, le télescope spatial appelé Chandra n'a capturé que les régions violettes. Alors qu'un autre télescope spatial, Spitzer, a vu les choses un peu différemment quand il a observé le même nuage : tout ce qui n'est pas violet sur la photo !

    Pourquoi ces deux télescopes ne voient-ils pas le nuage d’étoiles en formation de la même façon ? La réponse est : cela dépend du type de lumière que le télescope peut détecter. Nos yeux ne voient que la lumière visible. Mais il existe de nombreux autres types de lumière qui peuvent être détectés par des télescopes particuliers, comme la lumière infrarouge, ultraviolette et les rayons X.

    Par exemple, le télescope Spitzer détecte la lumière infrarouge. Spitzer est parfait pour observer les régions pleines de poussière où se forment les étoiles, car les rayons infrarouges peuvent traverser la poussière. Le télescope Chandra, lui, ne peut pas voir la lumière infrarouge. Il détecte la lumière aux rayons X émise par le gaz quand il est chauffé à des températures très hautes par de nouvelles étoiles chaudes.

    Alors même si les deux télescopes nous racontent deux versions différentes de ce qu'ils voient, ils disent tous les deux la vérité !

Cool Fact

    Le gaz chaud de cette image (en violet sur la photo) est à la température incroyable de 10 millions de degrés Celsius !

Share:

Images

Telescopes that Tell Different Tales
Telescopes that Tell Different Tales

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.1 MB

Find Us Online At
iBookstore
Android app on Google Play
Like Us
A programme by
Telescopes that Tell Different Tales
29 September 2011

To see the Universe in full, astronomers have to get creative. They combine multiple photos taken by different telescopes to make one colourful picture. For example, in this beautiful new picture of a star-forming cloud, the space telescope called Chandra only captured the purple regions. Meanwhile, another space telescope called Spitzer saw things a bit differently when it observed the same cloud – everything shown here other than the purple bits!

But why don’t these two telescopes see the star-forming cloud in the same way? The answer lies in the type of light that the telescopes are designed to observe. Our eyes can only see visible light. But there are many other types of light that can be detected by special telescopes, such as infrared, ultraviolet and X-ray.

For example, the Spitzer telescope detects infrared light. Spitzer is perfect for observing dusty star-forming regions, as infrared light can travel through the dust. The Chandra telescope, however, can’t see infrared light. Instead, Chandra can detect the X-ray light that is given off by gas when it is heated to incredibly high temperatures by hot, young stars.

So, although the two telescopes give a different tale about what they see, they’re both telling the truth!

Cool Fact

The hot gas in this image (shown in purple) has a scorching temperature of 10 million degrees Celsius!

More information

 

Share:

Images

Telescopes that Tell Different Tales
Telescopes that Tell Different Tales

Printer-friendly

PDF File
1.1 MB